A restbite in Chiang Mai

A 6 hour bus journey with an early start brought me to Chiang Mai. Then it was an afternoon trip to an elephant sanctuary which took a bit of time to get to but it was worth it. While I’ve had a fair share of experience with African elephants, this was different. These were rescue elephants, some of which had had previous injuries from being mistreated. It was amazing being able to feed them and walk round a bit of wilderness with them. And then play with them in the water! Although a few of us were slightly uneased by the amount of elephant poo that seemed to be appearing. They were very happy elephants getting a lot of attention and love from people. I still like the fact that they can just creep up on you without you noticing. Then a night exploring a bit of the night market – it was completely massive. I sense I’ll be returning here. Chiang Mai has a lovely old city wall surrounding it.  Visited the Lost book shop – picked up book about Burma to read. Then visited Wat Chedi Luang temple where there are many old structures – women aren’t allowed in one of the buildings due to menstruation as it ruins the sanctity of the city pillar and causes instability. Construction started here in the 14th century, but the buildings have been affected by earthquakes. Also wandered to Warorot market which was huge. I was able to see a bit of the Sunday night market which was near to where I was staying. While walking around, the national anthem was played over a tannoy at 6pm and everyone stood still and silent until it was finished. So I did too. This plays every day at 8am and 6pm and everyone is meant to respect it.

I lost my pedicure virginity – I’d never had one before but my feet needed sorting. They feel quite nice and refreshed! Then went to have a full body one hour massage at a salon which trains ex female convicts and gives them employment as it can be a tough world upon release. It was a good massage and I felt very relaxed. A quick dive into the hotel pool was also very welcoming. While out in the evening booking a tour for the next day and locating a laundry service, the heavens opened and a torrential downpour lasted several hours. I dived for cover in a place where I could grab a bit to eat which was fairly close to where I was staying. I avoided rice finally!

I visited Wat Phra That Doi Suthep which is slightly outside the city and up a mountain (called Doi Suthep). It’s a sacred site as part of the Buddha’s skeleton was meant to be transported here on a white elephant, who then died. The original stupa was said to be built in 1383. Also went to a nearby village which had a lovely waterfall. Yet another massage in the afternoon (I am getting fairly greedy, I know – but if they are £5, then I’m not complaining). This was a Thai one concentrating on back, neck and shoulders. I was pulled around in odd angles and my bag was walked on. It was very odd. But I felt better after it. Then an easy night with some nice food and Netflix. I did have another couple of massages before I left Chiang Mai – I thought I’d take the most of the opportunity. A foot massage was interesting. I am quite sensitive on certain parts of my feet so I think I was off putting the masseuse a bit!

I took myself off around the city the next morning to see some of the other temples that are dotted around. Wat Suan Dok was first in the west of the city and it houses many stupas which contain the ashes of several of Chiang Mai’s important royal families, as well as the main stupa which holds a relic of the Buddha. Phra Singh Temple was fairly huge with nice grounds surrounding it full of smaller temples and meaningful messages attached to trees. Construction on this site dates back to the mid 14th century. The main building houses an impressive Buddha, and I walked into the main temple when a service was happening – this included lots of younger monks sitting at one side of the room waiting to eat and prayers were being read. I received a blessing from a Buddhist monk and have another bracelet to join the one from Koyasan on my wrist. ​​​

After a nice lunch, I treated myself to an afternoon of book reading and catching up on a few things using the internet – what a treat! Although I did feel that I was wasting my time and not making the most of it but deep down, I knew I needed some downtime.  I then went to Doi Intanon national park and went to the highest point in Thailand at 2500m up. Unfortunately, the weather was rubbish – it was foggy and raining a bit. The waterfalls were amazing, however. Trying to see the two pagodas was interesting with the fog. The views from where they are look incredible, but the weather was disappointing. Oh well! It’s my own fault for coming in the rainy season! A last night to myself wandering around the night market and met some people who dragged me to a cabaret club. This was no ordinary cabaret club as the performances were done by ladyboys. It was very colourful and glamorous.I have enjoyed the opportunity to have 5 nights by myself in one place. I was totally exhausted and it was a luxury to unpack my bag instead of playing lucky dip! I felt relaxed by the end thanks to the many massages and some sleep.

Next stop: Burma!

Leave a Reply

