Cycling is the way forward!

I read an interesting article the other day in The Independent which emphasised the benefits of walking and/or cycling to work, paying particular emphasis on the lower body fat of individuals compare to drivers. Since moving closer to work a couple of years ago, I have relished the energy and the new lease of life that I now seem to have, and it is in part due to this. Even though my cycle is only ten minutes, it wakes me up in the morning and allows me to focus on something else after a hard day at the office. Here is the article.

In Central London, it has been known to be a controversial topic due to the amount of injuries or arguments with drivers. But the amount of cycle routes and highways allow for more safety and less disruption. I have only cycled in the centre a few times, but I felt the pressure to move off quickly and flit around the traffic. Where I live, there is not so much chaos so I don’t feel so vulnerable. Besides, the river provides amazing scenery when it is seen at dawn.

I’ve recently invested in some road bike shoes (even managed to sort the cleats myself!) in preparation for road bike fun. I’ll have a go with them tomorrow on a spinning bike in the gym.

 

Cycling is something that’s changed my life for the better. I’m healthier and fitter than I was this time 2 years ago, and I hope to improve my general wellbeing even more. So back on the healthy eating and the miles in the saddle it is! 

Leave a Reply

