A year to go until I fly outta here!

Well, would you look at that! It’s officially a year until I fly out to Lima to start my year of fun. Hurrah!

A friend of mine is also coming to Peru with me which is great as he had always wanted to do the Inca Trail as well. So at least I’ll have a friendly face at the start me off. I imagine I could feel a little overwhelmed initially! I’m hoping a few more friends come out and join me as some will be turning 30 in the same year.

I’ve started to make a list of all the important things I need to think about (visas, jabs etc). I’m not sure how I’d manage to flit between the various types of currency. Do I use my UK bank accounts? Is there a travelling bank account I could use? What if I buy souvenirs along the way and use up my whole rucksack space?? If they’re big items, I could try and post them home but that might be expensive?

Saving is going pretty well – I’m definitely having to be strict. But it’s worth it. I hold some shares at work so will sell them when the share price goes up a bit. I’ll have to look into renting my flat out too. Hopefully someone at work might be interested.

I’m enjoying reading travelling blogs on here and it makes me feel better that others have also felt the same things that I do. The same insecurities and doubts as well as enthusiasm. So yay! I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

