Work have officially given me the year off with the perk of having a job to come back to! It’ll be great to have a year off shift work, having worked shifts for 6 years. I’m sure it’ll do my health some good, but might be hard to get back into the swing of nights when I come back! I can’t fathom going to bed at night every single night. Isn’t that bad?

I’m about to put down a deposit with STA for the trip – it’s only £50 and that’ll guarantee the whole thing! I’ve made a decision about some of the organised trips that I’ll do. I think in some parts of the world, it’s safer to be involved with something organised, rather than be completely on your own. To do the Inca Trail, you have to organise it about 6 months in advance anyway. Hoping to tie it in with going to the Amazon and Lake Titicaca, as well as Cuzco and the Nazca lines. It’s a three week tour and actually costs a bit but it’ll be worth it. I might even get some sort of discount…..! **crosses fingers**. The tour is called Absolute Peru but seems to be quite a bit of money! But I guess it’s worth doing if it’s got everything in it that I want to do. It will be the first place I travel to, so maybe some organisation will give me an initial peace of mind?

Another one that looks quite good and reasonably priced is called India on a Shoestring. It lasts 20 days and goes to everywhere I want to go. It even throws in a camel safari and sleeping in the desert! I rode a camel in Egypt years ago and was terrified but hope that it’ll be different this time! Jodphur looks an amazing place to go. I read this blog post about a day in Jodphur by Alice Audley which gave me a great insight.

I’m still yet to decide on what I want to do in Burma – I was advised to go on a tour, but they seem to be a little on the pricey side? I’ll have to keep on thinking and looking! I’m also looking into getting involved with ThaIntro – it looks like a lot of fun and a good way of meeting new people.

Money is obviously a big factor – apparently, you can survive on £18k for a year away (this includes everything!) which is such a reasonable amount. I still need to do a lot more saving. Thank God for overtime!

I cannot believe that it I can say that it is next year that I go away. Considering how quickly last year sped by, I know that I have not got long to go!

travelling

One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things – Henry Miller

2 thoughts on “It’s all becoming real!

  1. Enjoy your trip! I’m a similar type of traveler, and trust me, you will make plenty of friends along the way. I haven’t done any of Asia, though. Have you thought about touching base with people you may know in various places along the way? Or inviting a friend to do one or two of your tours? Or you may be determined to do it all alone just for the more subtle rewards of solo travel. Good adventures!

    Like

    1. Thanks! Yes – part of the reason why I’m doing it is that I turn 30, as do a lot of friends of mine. I’ve already spoken to a few of them about joining me at various stages to “celebrate”. A couple of them are keen! I’ve got a few friends in different countries too so will definitely touch base. Anywhere you would recommend or not recommend to go?

      Like

Leave a Reply

