I should probably mention that I am planning on taking a career break and travel the world for a year when I turn 30! And yes, doing it entirely on my own. It’s a bit daunting, and I have no doubt that I have terrified the life out of my parents, but it’s something that needs to be done before an opportunity is missed.

I’m having great fun researching trips with STA. I went in and had a chat to one of the ‘Travel Experts’ the other week about a possible route.

Good news! It is all possible.

So at the moment it is:

London
Peru
Bolivia
Mexico
Los Angeles – could go to San Francisco/Las Vegas
Tokyo
Beijing
Hong Kong
Thailand
Vietnam
Cambodia
Burma
Nepal
India
South Africa (possibly going into Namibia and Botswana)
Back to London

I was thinking about doing a bit of volunteering in Thailand with Elephant conservation – I’ve always been a bit of an elephant fan since I went out to South Africa a few years ago. Has anyone done this?

I was advised to do tours in Burma and India and have liked the idea of these:

Burma on a shoestring

India on a shoestring

Has anyone done these or can anyone recommend other places to go along my route?

4404156_9_top

3 thoughts on “Researching the route…for a year abroad!

  1. I would do San Francisco instead of Los Angeles. You’re likely to fly into Los Angeles, but you can catch a shuttle flight up to San Francisco. One day is enough for Las Vegas; a little LV goes a long way. New York is great. And if you want some beach, Ft Lauderdale, Florida is my favorite. You might want to re-think Mexico. I’ll be following your blog!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the advice! I was just going to stick to the West coast for this and perhaps do New York as a separate trip at some point! Yep – wasn’t planning to spend too long in LV. I wanted to see Chichén Itzá and some of the other Mayan ruins in Mexico, as well as Cancun. Route has already changed slightly from the original idea anyway! And I’m sure it’s bound to be tweaked further!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

