So where do I start..?

To know what you want from life, you have to be honest with yourself. Otherwise you won’t get anywhere. In October last year, I was told by my partner’s grandmother, that “You have a pretty face, but you’re a bit fat, aren’t you?”. Although perhaps insulting, this blunt statement fueled a determination to eventually do something about my weight that I had been carrying far too long.

So I did it.

In 6 months, I shed 3 stone.

And I feel all the better for it. I guess the weight had started to creep on from University days – a  combination of cheap unhealthy food, too much alcohol, no exercise, and a lazy existence with the boyfriend at the time, who was also lazy. Looking back, I wish things had been different – I should have worked harder. I should have got off my a*rse. Hindsight is an amazing thing.

But if the comment hadn’t been made, I don’t know whether the determination to get healthy would have happened. So I should be thankful, I guess. It has changed my life for the better. I have taken up cycling and recently competed in a 55 mile event. I actually did about 70 miles in the end as I accidentally got lost. But on the plus side, I never dreamed that I would be able to have that sort of stamina. I wasn’t the fastest, and I don’t think I ever will be (I’m blaming the short legs and the heavy hybrid bike I have for this….obviously…) but this was such an improvement from a year ago when I was out of breath running for a bus.

I’ve signed up to do a couple of 100 mile events next year. Hopefully I can train for them! I need to bite the bullet and actually buy a road bike instead of telling myself I will at some point. I have to confess, I don’t like spending money on big things – I recently had to replace my boiler and that has knocked me financially a little bit! But it needed to happen.

I’ve got a bit of internal struggle going on at the moment with wanting to lose more weight, but have reached a plateau where it’s not quite happening. I know I’m an emotional eater, so because I’m annoyed and disappointed that I’m not losing any more, I’ll eat something and everything will turn into a downward spiral. Not sure how to get out of this one! I’m sure it’ll be ok in the end and the extra few pounds will go eventually. I guess I need another blunt statement.

Anyone?

44cf809e594b6a326694cd96ed7cd679
I like to think so 😉
il_570xN.444488392_hkiw
Something to think about
11873920
Definitely know that feeling!
Chalkboard-Weight-Loss-Quotes
Yes! BURN!
images
Know this feeling too!
Never-give-up-on-a-dream-just-because-of-the-time-it-will-take-to-accomplish-it-The-time-will-pass-anyway-4
Anything is possible
3 thoughts on “So where do I start..?

Leave a Reply

